Environment

Our commitments: to protect the environment wherever possible, to avoid wasting natural resources, to favour alternative fuels and rolling stock that emit a minimum of harmful gases. The result: the SLG Group is recognized for its positive initiatives in Smart Mobility and urban, sustainable and socially responsible eco-mobility.

In 2017, several developments contributed in particular to the implementation of new structures: the Diffbus and the first “opportunity charging” station. Another major SLG breakthrough has enabled the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg to benefit from the world’s first 100% electric communal public grid.

Our company adheres to the regulations and standards of CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) labelled ESR since 2010 by the National Institute for Sustainable Development (INDR, Luxembourg). In this sense, we wish to inform our customers about the measures of our ecological charter and demand from collaborators and suppliers a real environmental commitment.

Carbon footprint

Reducing our carbon footprint is a well thought-out strategy!

At each vehicle changeover, connectivity and digitalisation are among the key requirements in order to limit CO2 emissions as much as possible.

In terms of infrastructure, SLG invested massively in 2004: the headquarters site was equipped with the largest photovoltaic installation in Luxembourg. Unique at the time, it comprises more than 2,200 modules that generate a reduction of 250 kg of CO2 each year.

The average annual production on the roofs of Bascharage alone is 190 MWh. This production makes it possible to carry out 140,000km of driving in 100% electric city buses.

More recently installed, the panels on the roofs of our warehouse in Koetschette (surface of 1195 m2 ) produce on average 90 MWh or 90,000 KWh of electrical energy per year.

Hybrid electric bus – towards zero-emission service

Thanks to Sales-Lentz, the first 100% electric buses have been running in the Luxembourg capital since spring 2017! Our group is one of Europe’s pioneers in technological and environmental innovation. As early as 2008, a fruitful collaboration with the car manufacturer Volvo and the support of public institutions enabled our fleet to welcome the world’s first hybrid bus! Eight years later, the first Volvo Hybrid Electric had reduced CO2 emissions by more than 40%.

Advances towards electromobility

Since the end of 2009 Sales-Lentz Autocars S.A. has been operating 50 hybrid buses and 15 hybrid electric buses (plug-in) as a subcontractor of the RGTR network.

Since 2011, two 100% electric urban Bluebuses have been used by Sales-Lentz in partnership with the City of Luxembourg on the City Shopping Bus line.

Differdange is now one of the first cities in Europe where all buses run entirely on electricity. Sales-Lentz Autocars has worked on the routes and timetables to serve more residential areas with a range of buses offering more comfort and tranquility. Electromobility saves 95,000 litres of diesel every year. The electricity charged in Differdange comes from 100% renewable sources: hydro, wind, biomass and solar.

Tested in preview by Sales-Lentz in June 2017, the 100% electric autonomous shuttle Navya has successfully conquered Luxembourg and is currently operating in three different locations in the Grand Duchy. Despite its small size (4.75m), it can carry up to 12 people. It is particularly practical for short journeys: “first and last miles.”

Recycling

Sales-Lentz holds the label “SuperDrecksKëscht fir Betriber” committing to sort waste for the depots of Bascharage, Mersch, Allerborn and Rambrouch.
Environmentally sound waste management focuses on the reduction of waste and the necessary preparations for reuse, recycling, validation and disposal.

Sales-Lentz has also put in place resourceful processes to recycle water from the daily coach maintenance: installation of three tanks to recycle the water, sludge separator, filtration system via a sandbox before emptying it into the drainage system.

Environnement

Nos engagements : protéger l’environnement partout où cela est possible, éviter de gaspiller les ressources naturelles, privilégier les carburants alternatifs et un matériel roulant émettant un minimum de gaz nocifs. Résultat : le groupe SLG est déjà reconnu pour ses initiatives positives en matière de Smart Mobility et d’éco-mobilité urbaine, durable et citoyenne.

En 2017, plusieurs innovations ont notamment contribué à la mise en place de structures inédites : le Diffbus et la première station « opportunity charging ». Une autre avancée majeure SLG a permis au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg de bénéficier du premier réseau public communal 100% électrique au monde.

Notre société adhère à la réglementation et aux normes de la RSE (Responsabilité Sociétale des Entreprises) labelisée ESR depuis 2010 par l’Institut National pour le Développement durable (INDR, Luxembourg). En ce sens, nous tenons à informer nos clients sur les mesures de notre chartre écologique et exigeons des collaborations et fournisseurs un réel engagement environnemental.

Empreinte carbone

Réduire notre empreinte carbone est une stratégie réfléchie !

A chaque renouvellement de véhicules, connectivité et digitalisation figurent parmi les impératifs afin de limiter au maximum les émissions de CO2.

Au niveau des infrastructures, SLG a massivement investi en 2004 : le site du siège social a été doté de la plus grande installation photovoltaïque du Luxembourg. Unique à l’époque, elle comprend plus de 2 200 modules qui génèrent, chaque année, une réduction de 250 kg de CO2.

La production annuelle moyenne rien que sur les toits de Bascharage est de 190 MWh. Cette production permet de réaliser 140.000km de conduite en autobus urbain 100% électrique.

Plus récemment installés, les panneaux sur les toits de notre dépôt à Koetschette (surface de 1195 m2 ) produisent en moyenne une énergie électrique de 90 MWh ou 90.000 KWh par année.

BUS HYBRIDE ELECTRIQUE – VERS UN SERVICE ZERO EMISSION

Grâce à Sales-Lentz, les premiers bus 100% électriques circulent dans la capitale luxembourgeoise depuis le printemps 2017 ! Notre groupe figure parmi les pionniers européens en matière d’innovations technologiques et environnementales. Déjà en 2008, une collaboration fructueuse avec le constructeur automobile Volvo et le soutien des institutions publiques avait permis à notre flotte d’accueillir le premier bus hybride au monde ! Huit ans plus tard, le premier Volvo hybride électrique affichait une réduction des émissions de CO2 de plus de 40%…

Les avancées vers l’électromobilité

Depuis fin 2009 Sales-Lentz Autocars S.A. exploite 50 bus hybrides et 15 bus électriques hybrides (plug-in) en tant que sous-traitant du réseau RGTR.

Depuis 2011, 2 Bluebus urbains 100% électriques sont utilisés par Sales-Lentz en partenariat avec la ville de Luxembourg sur la ligne City Shopping Bus

Differdange est maintenant une des premières villes d’Europe dont la totalité des bus fonctionnent entièrement à l’électricité. Sales-Lentz Autocars a travaillé sur le tracé des lignes et leurs horaires pour desservir davantage de zones résidentielles avec une gamme de bus offrant plus de confort et de silence. L’électromobilité permet d’épargner 95.000 litres de diesel chaque année. L’électricité chargée à Differdange provient de sources 100% renouvelables : hydro, éoliennes, biomasse et solaire.

Testée en avant-première par Sales-Lentz en juin 2017, la navette autonome Navya 100% électrique, a conquis le Luxembourg et fonctionne actuellement en 3 endroits différents au Grand-Duché. Malgré sa petite dimension (4,75m), elle peut transporter jusqu’à 12 personne. Elle s’avère particulièrement pratique pour les trajets courts : «first and last miles.

Recycling

Sales-Lentz détient le label « SuperDrecksKëscht fir Betriber » engageant à trier les déchets pour les dépôts de Bascharage, Mersch, Allerborn et Rambrouch.
La gestion écologique des déchets met l’accent sur leur réduction ainsi que sur les préparatifs nécessaires à leur réutilisation, recyclage, validation et élimination.

Sales-Lentz a également mis en place d’ingénieux processus pour recycler l’eau issue de l’entretien quotidien des autocars : installation de trois cuves permettant de recycler l’eau, séparateur de boue, système de filtration via un bac à sable avant le déversement dans le réseau d’évacuation.