Environment

Our commitments: to protect the environment wherever possible, to avoid wasting natural resources, to favour alternative fuels and rolling stock that emit a minimum of harmful gases. The result: the SLG Group is recognized for its positive initiatives in Smart Mobility and urban, sustainable and socially responsible eco-mobility.

In 2017, several developments contributed in particular to the implementation of new structures: the Diffbus and the first “opportunity charging” station. Another major SLG breakthrough has enabled the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg to benefit from the world’s first 100% electric communal public grid.

Our company adheres to the regulations and standards of CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) labelled ESR since 2010 by the National Institute for Sustainable Development (INDR, Luxembourg). In this sense, we wish to inform our customers about the measures of our ecological charter and demand from collaborators and suppliers a real environmental commitment.

Carbon footprint

Reducing our carbon footprint is a well thought-out strategy!

At each vehicle changeover, connectivity and digitalisation are among the key requirements in order to limit CO2 emissions as much as possible.

In terms of infrastructure, SLG invested massively in 2004: the headquarters site was equipped with the largest photovoltaic installation in Luxembourg. Unique at the time, it comprises more than 2,200 modules that generate a reduction of 250 kg of CO2 each year.

The average annual production on the roofs of Bascharage alone is 190 MWh. This production makes it possible to carry out 140,000km of driving in 100% electric city buses.

More recently installed, the panels on the roofs of our warehouse in Koetschette (surface of 1195 m2 ) produce on average 90 MWh or 90,000 KWh of electrical energy per year.

Hybrid electric bus – towards zero-emission service

Thanks to Sales-Lentz, the first 100% electric buses have been running in the Luxembourg capital since spring 2017! Our group is one of Europe’s pioneers in technological and environmental innovation. As early as 2008, a fruitful collaboration with the car manufacturer Volvo and the support of public institutions enabled our fleet to welcome the world’s first hybrid bus! Eight years later, the first Volvo Hybrid Electric had reduced CO2 emissions by more than 40%.

Advances towards electromobility

Since the end of 2009 Sales-Lentz Autocars S.A. has been operating 50 hybrid buses and 15 hybrid electric buses (plug-in) as a subcontractor of the RGTR network.

Since 2011, two 100% electric urban Bluebuses have been used by Sales-Lentz in partnership with the City of Luxembourg on the City Shopping Bus line.

Differdange is now one of the first cities in Europe where all buses run entirely on electricity. Sales-Lentz Autocars has worked on the routes and timetables to serve more residential areas with a range of buses offering more comfort and tranquility. Electromobility saves 95,000 litres of diesel every year. The electricity charged in Differdange comes from 100% renewable sources: hydro, wind, biomass and solar.

Tested in preview by Sales-Lentz in June 2017, the 100% electric autonomous shuttle Navya has successfully conquered Luxembourg and is currently operating in three different locations in the Grand Duchy. Despite its small size (4.75m), it can carry up to 12 people. It is particularly practical for short journeys: “first and last miles.”

Recycling

Sales-Lentz holds the label “SuperDrecksKëscht fir Betriber” committing to sort waste for the depots of Bascharage, Mersch, Allerborn and Rambrouch.
Environmentally sound waste management focuses on the reduction of waste and the necessary preparations for reuse, recycling, validation and disposal.

Sales-Lentz has also put in place resourceful processes to recycle water from the daily coach maintenance: installation of three tanks to recycle the water, sludge separator, filtration system via a sandbox before emptying it into the drainage system.

Umwelt

Unser Engagement: Schutz der Umwelt, wo immer es möglich ist, Vermeiden der Verschwendung natürlicher Ressourcen, Bevorzugen alternativer Kraftstoffe und Fahrzeuge, die ein Minimum an schädlichen Gasen ausstoßen. Das Ergebnis: Anerkennung der SLG-Gruppe für ihre positiven Initiativen in den Bereichen intelligente Mobilität und städtische, nachhaltige und sozial verantwortliche Ökomobilität.

Im Jahr 2017 trug eine Reihe von Innovationen dazu bei, neue Strukturen zu implementieren: der Diffbus und die erste „Opportunity Charging“-Ladestation. Ein weiterer bedeutender SLG-Durchbruch hat es dem Großherzogtum Luxemburg ermöglicht, das weltweit erste öffentliche kommunale Stromnetz mit 100 % Elektrizität zu nutzen.

Unser Unternehmen hält sich an die CSR-Vorschriften und -Standards (Corporate Social Responsibility, unternehmerische Sozialverantwortung), deren Einhaltung seit 2010 vom Nationalen Institut für nachhaltige Entwicklung (INDR, Luxemburg) mit dem ESR-Label ausgezeichnet wird. Deshalb sind wir bestrebt, unsere Kunden über die Maßnahmen unserer Umweltcharta zu informieren und von Mitarbeitern und Lieferanten ein echtes Umweltengagement einzufordern.

Co2-Bilanz

Die Reduktion unseres Kohlenstoff-Fußabdrucks ist eine gut durchdachte Strategie!

Bei jeder Fahrzeugerneuerung sind Konnektivität und Digitalisierung zwingend erforderlich, um die CO2–Emissionen so weit wie möglich zu begrenzen.

Was die Infrastruktur betrifft, so hat SLG im Jahr 2004 stark investiert: Der Hauptsitz wurde mit der größten Photovoltaikanlage Luxemburgs ausgestattet. Diese Anlage war damals einzigartig und umfasst mehr als 2.200 Module, die eine Reduktion von 250 kg CO2 Jahr bewirken.

Die durchschnittliche Jahresproduktion allein auf den Dächern von Bascharage beträgt 190 MWh. Diese Produktion ermöglicht es, 140.000 km in vollelektronischen Stadtbussen zu fahren.

Die kürzlich installierten Paneele auf den Dächern unseres Lagers in Koetschette (Fläche von 1195 m2 ) erzeugen durchschnittlich 90 MWh oder 90.000 KWh elektrische Energie pro Jahr.

ELEKTRO-HYBRIDBUS – AUF DEM WEG ZUM EMISSIONSFREIEN BETRIEB

Dank Sales-Lentz fahren seit Frühjahr 2017 die ersten vollelektrischen Busse in der luxemburgischen Hauptstadt! Unsere Gruppe gehört zu den europäischen Pionieren im Bereich der technologischen und ökologischen Innovation. Bereits 2008 konnte unsere Flotte dank einer fruchtbaren Zusammenarbeit mit dem Automobilhersteller Volvo und der Unterstützung öffentlicher Einrichtungen den ersten Hybridbus der Welt begrüßen! Acht Jahre später waren die CO2-Emissionen des ersten Elektro-Hybrid-Volvos um mehr als 40 Prozent gesunken …

Fortschritte in der Elektromobilität

Seit Ende 2009 betreibt Sales-Lentz Autocars S.A. als Unterauftragnehmer des RGTR-Netzes 50 Hybridbusse und 15 Elektro-Hybrid-Busse (Plug-in).

Seit 2011 werden 2 zu 100 % elektrische städtische „Bluebusse“ von Sales-Lentz in Partnerschaft mit der Stadt Luxemburg auf der Linie „City Shopping Bus“ eingesetzt.

Differdange ist nun eine der ersten Städte in Europa, in der alle Busse vollständig mit Strom betrieben werden. Sales-Lentz Autocars hat an den Fahrstrecken und Fahrplänen gearbeitet, um eine größere Anzahl an Wohngebieten mit Bussen zu bedienen, die mehr Komfort und Ruhe bieten. Die Elektromobilität spart jedes Jahr 95.000 Liter Diesel ein. Der in Differdange geladene Strom stammt zu 100 % aus erneuerbaren Quellen: Wasser, Wind, Biomasse und Sonne.

Der als Vorpremiere von Sales-Lentz im Juni 2017 getestete selbstfahrende und zu 100 % elektrische Navya-Shuttle hat Luxemburg erobert und ist derzeit an 3 verschiedenen Orten im Großherzogtum im Einsatz. Trotz seiner geringen Größe (4,75 m) kann er bis zu 12 Personen befördern. Die Shuttles sind besonders praktisch für kurze Reisen: „First and last Miles“.

Recycling

Sales-Lentz trägt das Label „SuperDrecksKëscht® fir Betriber“, und verpflichtet sich, den Abfall für die Deponien Bascharage, Mersch, Allerborn und Rambrouch zu trennen.
Eine umweltgerechte Abfallwirtschaft konzentriert sich auf die Reduktion von Abfällen sowie die notwendigen Vorbereitungen für Wiederverwendung, Recycling, Validierung und Entsorgung.

Sales-Lentz hat auch raffinierte Verfahren zum Wasser-Recycling aus der täglichen Instandhaltung der Reisebusse eingeführt: Installation von drei Tanks zur Wasser-Wiederverwertung, Schlammabscheider, Filtrationssystem über einen Sandfang vor der Einleitung in das Entwässerungsnetz.